Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here - how to Pick a tank

Hi,
    I've never had an aquarium before, and hoping to start a smallish planted one soon.
    Planning on something as simple as possible to start with, that will be able to support some shrimp and a few tetras.
    How do i pick which tank to buy? I tried looking for threads recommending specific ones, but couldn't find any.
    Is the Fluval curve 32 from Petbarn a reasonable choice, or would i be making a mistake purchasing it?

Thanks

I've been away from this forum for a year or more. My tank has been very stable and the whole COVID-19 thing caused a zillion other issues. I came back the other day and I feel like the Omega man. Everybody seems to have left? I wonder where they went?

I saw your post and expected you to get an avalanche of replies.

I'm unfamiliar with the Fluval tank (I have a 432l 4x2x2). I do know however that on those "integrated" tanks that include filtration and lighting, the lighting in particular is often a weak point. They do look good but you may have to boost the lighting.

Comment

Thanks dcm. I had just about given up on getting a response.
      I actually ended up going to the LFS, and got a AquaOne of a similar size, following the salesperson recommendation. I hope to start setting it up next week, and I'll see how it goes.
      Currently trying to come to terms with the prices on the aquatic plants. This is not a cheap hobby.

Comment

I'm unfamiliar with the range but like the Fluval, I'd be sceptical-by-default about the light suitability for plants. Maybe start with some low-light, tough ones. Java fern, java moss, maybe an anubias or two with some hardscape.

I haven't bought any plants for a very long time. That's what happens when you run a planted aquarium. You end up with loads more plants than you ever actually bought. So consider your initial plants as investments perhaps.