Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi to all, another from Brisbane

G'day,

Just a little about myself, I work in a pvc pipe extrusion factory in brisbane, am 26 years old and i have had a few tanks before but never enjoyed the beauty of a planted tank before, i have a couple of saratoga, a mangrove jack, salmontail catty and a baramundi in a few different tanks.

Have a few hobbies on the go at once and the missus cracks up a bit but owell need some reward for working ya life away huh, im into 4wding, fishing, computers and tech, also dont mind getting into a bit of photography every now and again when there aint much else to do. Plus now i feel the urge to put together a nice planted tank. Even though i am a complete noob at this as usuall i tend to jump in a bit over my head with a new hobby and learn by my mistakes along the way, so feel free to critisise me for trying to go too indepth on my first setup.

Have been doing a bit of reading about the planted tanks and have a couple of questions. Firstly i will mention what i want to do and can someone please correct me if it will go horribly wrong.

Its a 6x2x2 tank approx 165gal, i have a 8x39w t5 light and a 4x30w t8 light.
    Im going to use eco complete as substrate (when i can find some in the country) either mixed or layered with some black gravel to make it deeper.
    It needs to be a warm water tank for the barramundi, so itll prolly run at about 28c.
    I am going to plant mainly plants that are not dependent on CO2 and are pretty hardy, but i do want it to be fairly heavily planted.

Suggestions needed.

Ok i want to run a DIY CO2 setup but also with a DIY reactor and a electronic solenoid on a timer so its not dossing all the time. Has this been done before? will the softdrink bottles be able to hold the pressure while the solenoid is closed?
    Would there be any benefit in only dossing CO2 for a few hours a day?
    Does dossing CO2 help keep algae away?