Shake's "Wabi-Kusa" bowl

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shake's "Wabi-Kusa" bowl

Ok members, I was inspired by Plantnuts "Wabi-kusa" that I just had to have an attempt myself.

I had a bowl that I bought awhile ago that I was going to set up as a nano bowl just like Graemes but changed my mind when I saw Plantnuts creation.

Bare in mind I'm no expert in plants like plantnut is.

The plants and mosses I intended to use. Some plants I gathered from the creek/pond infront of our property.

This is the clay ball with a little spaghnum moss mixed in.

The clay ball that has been covered in spaghnum moss and the with java moss, riccia, soleirolia and moss I found in my roof gutters. (don't know how that one will go)

Now I added some C. Wendtii, R. rotundifolia. B.caroliniana and some plants that i found growing along the edge in the creek.

Finished product

Top view

I'll add more pictures of the next few days. Camera battery has just gone flat
    sigpic

Awesome, shake!

I really like the addition of riccia, crypt wendtii and soleirolia! Let's see how they go!

Using a bowl seems to be a better idea, because it hold a lot more moisture around the plants...
    Also, what type of lighting are you using?

Last question.. lol .. Where did you get the soleirolia? Collected or bought?

Cheers.
    sigpic

Subvert the dominant paradigm!

Comment

Thanks Plantnut.

You were my inspiration.

At the moment I'm just using a desk lamp with a 50w halogen. I'm not to sure if I should look for something else or sit it near a window where it could get at least 7-8 hours of sunshine.

Hope the riccia and crypt take off. The soleirolia was bought today from a nursery.
      sigpic

Comment

very nice

Thats really nice Shake

Plantnuts step by step intro has inspired me as well,but it will have to wait.

I cant wait to watch these grow in.

Graeme
        Read this very helpful thread on BSS .