Thread: level

Default level

Have recently relocated my tanks to a new fish room. However, the floor is not quite level. As much as I have tried to level them now, some are slightly off kilter. Now, one reads many opinions online, ranging from "needs to be absolutely level" to "tilt forward 15 degrees to reduce sunlight shining into tank". Not so worried about small tanks but wondering about the 200l tanks so am after advice. I am after real life experiences and will only accept scaremongering if you have had bad experiences or are a structural engineer.

Do you know how many degrees off? Would be useful for the engineering types.

Not exactly due to lack of equipment and know how. I would guess 5-10 degrees. Expanding the topic slightly: What to people use to level their tanks?

I use my phone level app.

Im an engineer and can say that the effect on the glass panels is negligible - pressure is exerted based on liquid height and 5 degrees gives you a height difference of nothing basically. On cabinets is another matter, but as long as its sturdy you'll be fine. I'd use shims or window packers under the cabinet/stand.
    Chris -my tank

Quote Originally Posted by mr_c265 View Post
    Im an engineer and can say that the effect on the glass panels is negligible - pressure is exerted based on liquid height and 5 degrees gives you a height difference of nothing basically. On cabinets is another matter, but as long as its sturdy you'll be fine. I'd use shims or window packers under the cabinet/stand.
    Thanks, much appreciated and of course exactly what I wanted to hear. I will have to look up shims and window packers, never heard of these.

Quote Originally Posted by Rebel View Post
    I use my phone level app.
    I meant what do people put under their cabinets to level their tanks.

Quote Originally Posted by happyfins View Post
    I will have to look up shims and window packers, never heard of these.
    I guess you need something like this - builders wedge