Thread: Priming eheim 2217

Default Priming eheim 2217

Hi friends,
    I know this won't be a new question.

I've been running an eheim 2217 for several years & it's been great. I have no issue with priming after water changes when the intake tubing remains full of water, but on the rare occasion I need to empty the intake tube & re-prime I have huge issues. Last night it took me 5 hours! so I'm wondering if anyone can help. I have been running an under gravel filter with it on my paludarium so have rarely needed to do tis, but have just decided to disconnect this so am likely going to need to prime with air in the intake more often now & it's pretty fiddly to access (tubing & filter under the tank is a tight fit) so I need to master it!

Can anyone give me some guidance on priming it when the intake tubing is not full of water?
    Has anyone used a universal installation kit with this filter & would you recommend one?

Many thanks for the feedback!

Siphoning the water through the canister into a bucket on the floor before hooking up the return hose usually works for me.

After cleaning the filter I fill the canister to the brim with water before I push the head onto the canister (keep the outlet tap open so the head goes on). Carry the full (heavy!) canister over to the tank.

I connect the canister inlet pipe and open the inlet taps. Before I hook up the outlet I direct the short length of hose from the filter head into a bucket under the tank. If the hoses are full I keep the power off and it will siphon by itself, but if the hoses have air in them I turn on the power on first, then quickly open the outlet tap shooting air and water into the bucket in a pulse. This will generally suck the water over the side of the tank and re-establish prime - if that fails (too much air in the canister) I'll turn the power off and suck on the filter outlet until it siphons by itself (I'm a grot)... then close the tap and reattach to the tank return.