Thread: Fighting with the substrate

Default Fighting with the substrate

Hi, total newbie here. I have a 2nd hand 4ft tank I would like to set up as a low-tech beginners community tank with easy to care for fish like guppies and a few low-needs plants. I've given it a good clean with diluted vinegar and a thorough rinse. I have an Aquael 1000 filter ready to go (canister filter wasn't a great option because I have a toddler).

After doing some research on here and driving to half a dozen stores around town, I could only get 2 bags of Brunnings propagating sand to use as substrate. I've started washing one bag of it in a bucket and after several dozen rinses it is still clouding up the water. Do I need to get it completely clear before I put it in?

Any other advice for substrate? Going for a natural look. The only Clarke Rubber up here doesn't stock regular pool filter sand, only zeolite so I am going to try some pool shops later in the week to top off the propagating sand.

Was going suggest unicorn brand pool filter sand but looks like you have checked

I would love to find some unicorn brand.

I washed the propagating sand as best I could and filled the tank, it did go quite murky though. Hoping it settles down or is filtered out.

don't use swimming pool filter sand because it compacts and the plants don't do well.

Something we did in the fish room was use 1 litre plastic ice cream containers. Put an inch of brown aquarium gravel in the container. Add a thin layer of plant fertiliser (the same stuff you use on garden plants). Put a thin layer (2-3mm) of red/ orange clay over the fertiliser. Then fill the rest up with brown gravel. Put your plant in the container and put the container in the tank. The clay stops the fertiliser leaching into the water and when the plant's roots hit the clay and fertiliser they go nuts.