Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 79

Thread: DIY Cerge's style co2 reactor SEE VERSION 2 below.

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    1,076

    Default

    Also, with that flow I'd be making it 500mm long. that's what I run 2700 LPH through with no blow through.
    90 litre and 300 litre journal: http://www.aquariumlife.com.au/showthread.php/57087-Ground-Zero-My-venture-into-aquascaping-begins-Now-3-tanks

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    perth
    Posts
    1,017

    Default

    cheers pete... 1 day LOL

    i should really do something
    my 6 x 2 x 2.5

    http://www.aquariumlife.com.au/showthread.php/57768-Disco-s-new-6-x-2-x-2-5

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    1,076

    Default

    150mm diameter version built in this thread: http://www.aquariumlife.com.au/showt...118#post539118
    90 litre and 300 litre journal: http://www.aquariumlife.com.au/showthread.php/57087-Ground-Zero-My-venture-into-aquascaping-begins-Now-3-tanks

  4. #19
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    370

    Default

    [QUOTE=disco frank;535719]
    i still find my atomiser under the inlet of my cannister filter works best
    QUOTE]

    Same here, so easy and works really well
    my Flickr photo page: http://www.flickr.com/photos/27593184@N05/
    my YouTube page: http://www.youtube.com/user/Mattzilla5000#p/u

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Northern Suburbs NSW
    Posts
    10,131

    Default

    [QUOTE=Mattzilla;539157]
    Quote Originally Posted by disco frank View Post
    i still find my atomiser under the inlet of my cannister filter works best
    QUOTE]

    Same here, so easy and works really well
    How many bubbles per second? How often do you clean it?
    I'd like to see it working with 6 bubbles per second with no cleaning for months...

  6. #21

    Default

    Does this reactor ever fill with glass and slosh about? To prevent this you can install a degas valve. At the top

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Northern Suburbs NSW
    Posts
    10,131

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeymikemike View Post
    Does this reactor ever fill with glass and slosh about? To prevent this you can install a degas valve. At the top
    Do you mean to let it out of the system altogether or try to dissolve it?

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    3,201

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeymikemike View Post
    fill with glass and slosh about?
    Fill my glass and I'll get sloshed.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    1,076

    Default

    Lol guys. Yes, at the end of a ten hour photoperiod at 6bps it does. It's like a relaxing dull wave noise. It can't be heard when the TV is on and it is in an open back cupboard. It disappears 2 minutes after lights are out. I have a t and an inline drain for water changes between the reactor and the outlet pipe. I use this for water changes and also to purge the air in the canister filter after a clean. The reactor can cause an air lock making the filter hard to prime and this water change system drains the air from both canister and reactor. Water changes are easy. Connect the hose, open the valve and it drains. Refill with the canister running. The benefit is new water is mixed with old water, passes through the reactor and into the inline heater up the back of the tank and is heated before it goes into the spray bar. Here are 2 photos of how it is on my small tank:

    90 litre and 300 litre journal: http://www.aquariumlife.com.au/showthread.php/57087-Ground-Zero-My-venture-into-aquascaping-begins-Now-3-tanks

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    1,671

    Default

    I havn't got naything to say about the co2 (i know very little about it all haha), but i really like that idea of using the canister for water changes man! I think I will do something like that with my new canister. Better than siphoning manually out to my balcony haha, probably way quicker too.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    1,076

    Default

    Indir, I have a good idea once every 20 years. This was my second. It's a good one lol!
    90 litre and 300 litre journal: http://www.aquariumlife.com.au/showthread.php/57087-Ground-Zero-My-venture-into-aquascaping-begins-Now-3-tanks

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    1,671

    Default

    Haha, well i like it man! Im going to use it :P Though I will have to plumb it a bit different as my canister has the pump inside the tank for self priming and stuff. Should be a rather easy way to do water changes though! I like it, saves my back and holding the hose in place and I dont have to worry about sucking up my inquisitive fish!

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Mornington peninsula, Vic
    Posts
    265

    Default

    Ive gotta say Pete this is an awesome reactor. I made one last week, installed it yesterday and it works like a dream - even at 6+ BPS. The only thing I adjusted however was to install a 4mm air bleed in the top of the reactor with a barb glued in, some airline tubing and a clamp. Highly recommended peeps!

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    1,076

    Default

    Thanks David. I find the water change tap does the same thing. If you turn everything off, the co2 bubble or trapped air rises to the top of the hose where the t is for the water change system. In the photo above its not on the apex of the curve. It still does the same thing as water comes down from the spray bar and the bubble pushes out. All my other tanks have the t at the highest point. I only turn the filter off for cleaning and purging. Water changes are done with the filter running, and the benefit is you can trickle in new water over an hour or two so you don't get a significant temp drop. Just need a long hose to an outside tap
    Last edited by Petetheplantkiller; 21-05-15 at 07:58 PM.
    90 litre and 300 litre journal: http://www.aquariumlife.com.au/showthread.php/57087-Ground-Zero-My-venture-into-aquascaping-begins-Now-3-tanks

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Mornington peninsula, Vic
    Posts
    265

    Default

    Ahhhhh makes sense with the 't' there - not just a pretty face are we Pete!

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •