Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HP's Salad Bowl

Default HP's Salad Bowl

Hey guys, thought I might share my salad bowl with you, an emersed setup at home, featuring:

- A wabi kusa style substrate ball with peacock moss, HM and a cryptocoryne
    - Rotala H'Ra/Gia Lai, dwarf hair grass, and java fern
    - Staurogyne repens
    - HM
    - HC

I've been growing this out for a little under 2 months now. Lit by a 5W LED downlight in a DIY lamp. It spends most of the time covered in cling wrap.

Having a problem with fungus gnats. Am using sticky fly paper attached inside the bowl to catch them, which is bringing them under control.

Peacock moss grows great, cryptocoryne is very hardy and love the emersed leaves, the HM develops smaller and rounder leaves that resemble HC...

Staurogyne really looks lovely. I had to rescue these from my tank because they were being eaten...

One staurogyne appears to be budding into a flower...

And the HC is starting to carpet, doing much better than what's in my tank. Many that got dislodged by my SAE and snails were put here...

Ferts are a mix of Flourish Comprehensive with a little KNO3 and KH2PO4. There's some Osmocote in the substrate but I find that too much causes root rot.

Eventually plan on adding some alternanthera reineckii mini.

I have to say, growing emersed is a lot of run, and very addictive!!
    Last edited by Haitchpeasauce; 26-05-14 at 10:11 PM.

Awesome HP! I suppose the ferts are very dilute? I plan on doing something very similar when my tank is on it's feet. I'll use plants out of the tank and will have it on my kitchen bench where it gets a few hours of sunlight during the day. Might use some peat moss and seedling raising mix capped with aquasoil (what emboli's done with his greenhouse).

Keep the updates coming!
    Joe.

Forgive my ignorance... In though all aquarium plants needs to be under water?