Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 8ftx 2.5ftx 2.5ft In wall tank and fish room planning and preparation

Default 8ftx 2.5ftx 2.5ft In wall tank and fish room planning and preparation

White Molly by krisrusset, on Flickr

I'm currently having my house built here in Vanuatu, and it incorporates a large in wall tank (facing the living room) which backs onto a fish utility room about 2.5m by 4m. Plan was originally for a marine tank when I had the tank built 5 years ago, but in the intervening time I've come to the conclusion that I'm more of a freshwater planted tank guy... Consequently I have a heap of decisions to make regarding equipment and setup. I have a ton of gear which I acquired from previous tanks and in preparation for this one. I've been renting for four years since my wife and I moved here to Vanuatu, looking longingly at the big tank sitting in storage...

So far the slab has been poured, and obviously drains are already in place. I've put three drains in the room, one for the sink in the corner, one underneath the big tank and one in the middle of the floor.

Untitled by krisrusset, on Flickr

Power is very expensive here (second most expensive in the world at roughly 65 cents/kilowatt) so efficiency is very important.

I've decided to experiment with solatubes for lighting, supplemented with either MH or T5HO for evening viewing once the sun goes down. I have four of the larger 290DS solatubes, one per 2ft section of tank.

I'm also deciding whether or not to run a sump underneath the tank. I know its not commonly done with planted tanks due to the water disruption and loss of co2 but I have seen it done successfully with forum member partrg's 4 foot tank in Perth. He ran a quiet overflow with minimal water disruption and was able to maintain adequate co2 levels. The beauty of a sump is of course being able to hide all the ugly gear out of sight... Plus I already have the sump made and ready to go.